ICC T20 WORLD CUP 2021 all set to begin on OCT 17 in UAE

ICC T20 WORLD CUP 2021 all set to begin on OCT 17 in UAE

The 2021 men’s T20 World Cup is set to start from October 17 in the UAE, with the final for the 16-team tournament scheduled for November 14. As per ESPNCricinfo, the 16-group competition will begin after the Indian Premier League 2021 final, which is relied upon to be held on October 15.

Previously, the ICC after the board meeting had affirmed that the BCCI would hold hosting privileges of the T20 World Cup regardless of whether the tournament is moved out of India. “ The Board also confirmed that the BCCI will remain the host of the event.” The ICC said in an official release.

The BCCI had been allowed time till June end to inform ICC  whether they would have the World Cup. While the IPL 2021 was suspended halfway as the second wave unleashed havoc in the country, the potential threat of the third wave is becoming a matter of grave concern for the BCCI.

The first round of the T20 World Cup will include 12 matches, comprising eight teams from which four would qualify for the super 12s. Four teams from this lot eight – Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, Papua New Guinea – will then progress to the super 12s, joining the top 8 ranked T20 teams.

The Super 12s phase, comprising 30 matches, is scheduled to start from October 24, The Super 12s, where teams will be split across two groups of six each, will be played at three venues in the UAE-Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah. This will be followed by three playoffs games – the two semi-finals and the final.

The BCCI had shortlisted nine venues for the World Cup, but an ICC team, meant to carry out inspection had to cancel its visit in April.

Source: Espncricinfo

Related Posts


Leave a reply

Social Media